UK government departments

Attorney General's Office
The Attorney General's Office are the chief legal advisers to the Government and are responsible for all crown litigation. They have overall responsibility for the work of:

  • Treasury Solicitors Department (TSol)
  • Crown Prosecution Service (CPS)
  • Serious Fraud Office (SFO)
  • Revenue and Customs Prosecution Office (RCPO)
  • Her Majesty's Crown Prosecution Service Inspectorate (HMCPSI)

Office of the Advocate General for Scotland
The Advocate General is the UK Government's chief legal adviser on Scottish law.


Department for Business, Enterprise & Regulatory Reform
The Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform (BERR) formerly Department of Trade and Industry is responsible for enterprise, business relations, regional development, fair markets and energy policy.


Cabinet Office
The Cabinet Office is the 'head office' of the government.  It supports the Prime Minister, the Cabinet and ensures that the government objectives are met. 

The Department for Children, Schools and Families
The Department for Children, Schools and Families is responsible for ensuring that children and young people grow up happy, healthy, safe and that receive a top class education.

Department for Communities and Local Government
Communities and Local Government sets policy on local government, housing, urban regeneration, planning and fire and rescue.  They are responsible for all race equality and community cohesion related issues in England and for building regulations, fire safety and some housing issues in England and Wales. The rest of their work applies only to England. 

Department for Culture, Media & Sport
This department is responsible for Government policy on the arts, sport, the National Lottery, tourism, libraries, museums and galleries, broadcasting, creative industries including film and the music industry, press freedom and regulation, licensing, gambling and the historic environment. They are also the Department responsible for 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.  


Ministry of Defence
The Ministry of Defence and it's agencies defend the United Kingdom and it's interests as well as strengthening international peace and stability.  


Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC)
The DECC ensures that UK energy is secure, affordable and efficient; Britain's carbon emissions are reduced and to achieve an international agreement on climate change at Copenhagen, December 2009. 

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA)  
DEFRA ensures a secure and healthy environment in which we and future generations can prosper.


Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO)
The FCO keys roles include; supporting British nationals overseas, helping Britain keep safe, building strong overseas relationships, and is responsible for the UK honours system. 


Government Equalities Office
The GEO is responsible for the Government's overall strategy on equality as well as women's issues across Government.



Department of Health
The Department of Health (DH) exists to improve the health and well-being of people in England.

Home Office
The Home Office is the lead government department for immigration and passports, drugs policy, counter-terrorism and police. 


Department for International Development
DFID supports long-term programmes to help tackle the underlying causes of poverty. DFID also responds to emergencies, both natural and man-made.


Ministry of Justice
The Ministry of Justice is responsible for policy on the overall criminal, civil, family and administrative justice system, including sentencing policy, as well as the courts, tribunals, legal aid and constitutional reform.


Leader of the House of Commons
The Office of Leader of the House of Commons supports the Leader of the House of Commons in his or her duties to the House.


Northern Ireland Office
The NIO is responsible for Northern Ireland's constitutional and security issues, in particular, law and order, political affairs, policing and criminal justice. It also has responsibility for matters relating to the licensing and legislation concerning firearms and explosives. 


Privy Council Office
The Privy Council Office provides Secretariat services for the Privy Council.


Scotland Office
The Scotland Office manages day to day devolution issues between Westminster and Holyrood.


Department for Transport
The Department for Transport's aim is transport that works for everyone. This means a transport system which balances the needs of the economy, the environment and society

HM Treasury
The Treasury is the UK's economics and finance ministry. It is responsible for formulating and implementing the Government's financial and economic policy.


Wales Office
The Wales Office supports the Secretary of State for Wales and represents Welsh interests within the UK Government and the UK Government in Wales.

Department for Work and Pensions
This department help people achieve their potential through employment.