Who's who of Governance

Rachel Knight - Head of Governance
Tel. 0207 955 6811 | rachel.knight@lse.ac.uk

Rachel leads the Governance team and ensures that the members and work of the School Council, Court and their Committees are supported and administers the framework of governance documents. 


Ray Donovan-Hill - Secretary to the Academic Board
Tel. 0207 955 7120 | r.donovan-hill@lse.ac.uk

Ray is the Secretary to the Academic Board, the School's principal academic advisory body; and Secretary of the Academic Nominations Committee, which is responsible for filling certain academic posts and vacancies on School committees for which the Academic Board is the appointing authority. He has experience in local and national government, project management, and policy development.


Jane Pugh - Governance Officer
Tel. 0207 955 6866 | J.Pugh@lse.ac.uk

Jane provides executive support to the Chair of Court and Council. She is the point of contact for Governors and Emeritus Governors Ceremony organisation. She is produces publications – Heads of Department Handbook, LSE Digest, Governor Handbook, Governor Experts, Governor Briefings. Jane is an SCR committee member. She was awarded an MBE for services to Education in 2011.


Mike Smith - Governance Officer
Tel. 0207 955 7556 | m.d.smith2@lse.ac.uk

Mike is the secretary to the Audit Committee. His background is in local government, complaints and appeals processes, Freedom of Information, elections and employee relations.