Academic Planning and Resources Committee

The Academic Planning and Resources Committee (APRC) is a committee of the Academic Board. The APRC oversees policies and processes for allocating resources, setting programme fees and adjusting student targets (including allocating student targets for new programmes).

APRC Terms of Reference

1.1 Taking into account at all times the range of future environments in which the School might find itself operating, and within the overall planning framework determined by the Council, the strategic remit of the APRC is:

(a) To assess and build on the School’s existing strengths;

(b) To facilitate initiatives that re-enforce and extend such strengths and apply them to new opportunities;

(c) To identify and seek to rectify the School’s weaknesses.

1.2 In pursuance of 1.1 above, the APRC has the responsibility:

(a) To ensure that the Committee's activities are consistent with the strategy developed by senior management and approved by Council;

(b) To receive proposals with substantial income or expenditure consequences from various sources within the School, and, within the financial framework approved by Council, recommend their acceptance, revision, or rejection by reference to the strategic framework and current position of the School;

(c) To oversee the periodic reviews of academic units of the School as the basis for the allocation of resources for staffing and other expenditure, and for the promotion of academic objectives, taking into account previous and current plans of the units under review;

(d) To gain assurance from senior management that the periodic reviews of performance of service units of the School are being undertaken with an awareness and promotion of relevant academic objectives;

(e) To present an annual stock-taking report to the Academic Board, with other issues the APRC wishes to raise being brought to the Board at ordinary meetings as required with the agreement of the Agenda Committee.

1.3 The APRC also has the responsibility:

(a) To advise the Academic Board and Council on the establishment or dis-establishment of Departments, Institutes and services and in exceptional circumstances, of Research Centres;

(b) To oversee the preparation of the School’s responses to major external enquiries in the field of institutional planning and development;

(c) To determine overall student number targets and their broad distribution within the framework determined by Council, together with decisions or guidance on admissions targets as appropriate;

(d) To advise Council on fee charging practices and recommend fee levels to Council;

(e) To regularly update and inform relevant committees of important business being considered by APRC in particular Finance and Estates Committee (FEC), Academic Board and Council;

(f) To ensure value for money is delivered (especially in relation to the use of public funds);

(g) To decide the allocations for the School-funded scholarship schemes within the framework and guidance from Finance and Estates Committee and Council.

APRC Schedule of Meetings 2021/22

September 2021

Monday 20     15:15 - 16:15  Online APRC Agenda Committee
October 2021
Tuesday 15 14:00 - 16:00  Online APRC 
Monday 25    14:00 - 15:00 Online APRC Agenda Committee
November 2021
Tuesday 9      14:00 - 16:00  Online APRC
Monday 22 10:00 - 11:00 Online APRC Agenda Committee

December 2021

Tuesday 7       14:00 - 16:00  Online           APRC 

January 2022

Wednesday 12    09:45 - 10:45  TBD APRC Agenda Committee 
Tuesday 25 14:00 - 16:00 TBD APRC
Thursday 27 14:00 - 16:00 TBD APRC
Monday 31 14:00 - 15:00 TBD APRC Agenda Committee

February 2022

Tuesday 15       14:00 - 16:00 TBD APRC

March 2022

Monday 7        14:00 - 15:00  TBD APRC Agenda Committee
Tuesday 22  14:00 - 16:00 TBD APRC 

April 2022

Monday 25     14:00 - 15:00 TBD APRC Agenda Committee

May 2022

Tuesday 13 14:00 - 16:00 TBD APRC
Monday 23 14:00 - 15:00 TBD APRC Agenda Committee

June 2022

Tuesday 7       14:00 - 16:00  TBD        APRC 

APRC Membership 2021/22

Dame Minouche Shafik Director (Chair) Ex Officio
Professor Eric Neumayer Pro-Director (Vice-Chair) Ex Officio
Professor Susana Mourato Pro-Director Ex Officio 
Professor Dilly Fung Pro-Director Ex Officio
Professor Charles Stafford Pro-Director Ex Officio
Professor Martin Anthony Vice Chair, Academic Board Ex Officio
Dr Susan Scott  Academic: Group I  2019 - 2022
Dr Mathias Koenig-Archibugi Academic: Group II 2019 - 2022
Dr Jennifer Jackson-Preece Academic: Group II 2021 - 2024
Dr Albina Danilova Academic: Group III 2021 - 2024
Professor Lee Edwards Professor: Group IV 2019 - 2022
Professor Stephen Jenkins Professor: Group IV 2020 - 2023
Professor Patrick Wallis Professor: Group V 2019 - 2022
Dr Siva Thambisetty Academic: Group V 2020 - 2023
Ms Robyn McAlpine Education Officer, Students' Union 2021 - 2022