THE LONDON SCHOOL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

COUNCIL

17 October 2023

CONFIRMED MINUTES

A meeting was held on Tuesday 17 October 2023 in hybrid format (in person and by electronic platform). The formal meeting items took place during the Council Away Day.

Present: Dr Susan Liautaud (Chair), Ali Nikpay (Vice-Chair and Senior Independent Director), Professor Pauline Barrieu (Vice-Chair of Academic Board), Dr Julia Biggane (Professional Services Staff nominee), Sonali De Rycker (Independent Member), Sir David Higgins (Independent Member), Dr Musimbi Kanyoro (Independent Member), Professor David Kershaw (Academic Board nominee), Professor Niamh Moloney (Academic Board nominee), Professor Eric Neumayer (Interim President & Vice Chancellor), Gavin Patterson (Independent Member), James Relf (General Secretary of the Students' Union), and Dr Angela Spatharou (Independent Member).

In attendance: James Aitken (Head of Executive Office and Strategy Delivery), Joanne Hay (Deputy Chief Operating Officer), Professor Emma McCoy (Vice President & Pro-Vice Chancellor (Education)), Professor Susana Mourato (Vice President & Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research)), Louise Nadal (School Secretary), Ben Plummer-Powell (Chief Philanthropy & Global Engagement Officer), Professor Charles Stafford (Vice President & Pro-Vice Chancellor (Faculty Development)), Dr Andrew Young (Chief Operating Officer), and Hilary Hunter (Head of Governance Services, committee secretary).

Apologies: Sir Masood Ahmed (Independent Member), Johannes Huth (Independent Member), Dr Donald Kaberuka (Independent Member), Stuart Roden (Independent Member), Professor Wim Van der Stede (Academic Board nominee), and *(normally in attendance)* Mike Ferguson (Chief Financial Officer).

1. DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

1.1 The Chair noted there were no conflicts of interest regarding the matter discussed below.

2. COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP: STUDENTS' UNION NOMINEE

PAPER A

2.1 Council approved the appointment of the Students' Union nomination for Council membership: Marie Fuchs from 17 October 2023 – 30 June 2024.

There were no other formal items considered at the Away Day.