THE LONDON SCHOOL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

COUNCIL

1 October 2024

CONFIRMED MINUTES

A meeting was held on Tuesday 1 October 2024 in hybrid format (in person and by electronic platform). The formal meeting items took place during the Council Away Day.

Present: Dr Susan Liautaud (Chair), Ali Nikpay (Vice-Chair and Senior Independent Director), Sir Masood Ahmed (Independent Member), Professor Pauline Barrieu (Vice-Chair of Academic Board), Sonali De Rycker (Independent Member), Marie Fuchs (Students' Union nominee), Professor Tamar Gendler (Independent Member), Sir David Higgins (Independent Member), Dr Musimbi Kanyoro (Independent Member), Professor David Kershaw (Academic Board nominee), Professor Larry Kramer (President & Vice Chancellor), Tito Molokwu (General Secretary of the Students' Union), Professor Niamh Moloney (Academic Board nominee), Gavin Patterson (Independent Member), Stuart Roden (Independent Member), Dr Angela Spatharou (Independent Member), and Professor Wim Van der Stede (Academic Board nominee).

In attendance: James Aitken (Head of Executive Office and Strategy Delivery), Mike Ferguson (Chief Financial Officer), Joanne Hay (Deputy Chief Operating Officer), Professor Emma McCoy (Vice President & Pro-Vice Chancellor (Education)), Professor Susana Mourato (Vice President & Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research)), Louise Nadal (School Secretary), Professor Eric Neumayer (Vice President & Pro-Vice Chancellor (Planning & Resources)), Ben Plummer-Powell (Chief Philanthropy & Global Engagement Officer), Professor Charles Stafford (Vice President & Pro-Vice Chancellor (Faculty Development)), Dr Andrew Young (Chief Operating Officer), and Hilary Hunter (Head of Governance Services, committee secretary).

Apologies: Dr Julia Biggane (Professional Services Staff nominee) and Johannes Huth (Independent Member).

Sir Masood was not present for the item.

1. DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

1.1 The Chair noted there were no conflicts of interest regarding the matter discussed below.

2. COUNCIL COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

PAPER A

2.1 Council approved the appointment of Masood Ahmed as an Independent Council member to Governance Committee from 1 October 2024 – 8 May 2026.

There were no other formal items considered at the Away Day.