Space Management Group

The Space Management Group is chaired by the Pro-Director Planning and Resources (CFO) . The group allocate space on behalf of the School and approve requests for additional space for approval. A central register of space data and space allocation is maintained by the Estates Division.

Committee Secretary

Ms P. Dunster

Tel: +44 020 7106 1158


Terms of Reference

1. Title of Committee: Space Management Group (SMG)

2. Status of Committee: Sub-committee of the School Management Committee (delegated from Council)

3. Responsibilities delegated to the Group by the Council, via SMC:

3.1 The Space Management Group will be chaired by the Pro-Director Planning and Resources (CFO).  This group will allocate space on behalf of the School and assess requests for additional space for approval.  

3.2 The group will develop space norms for approval by the School’s Management Committee and will utilise these in administering the space allocation.

3.3 The Group ensures that space utilisation data is collected (in accordance with HESA requirements) from the School and seeks to ensure a balanced and equitable use of space across the portfolio.

3.4 This Group must oversee potential space charging processes with Finance Division.

3.5  This Group must oversee the planning of the accommodation for approved new staff within academic units and services through the work of the Planning Unit, resulting from typically Annual Monitoring (AMR), Academic Planning Resources Committee (APRC) and Major Academic Initiatives (MAI). In addition this Group will consider ad hoc accommodation requests to the School.

3.6 The Group is to seek to ensure that all opportunities for increased efficiency and utilisation of space are taken up, incorporating the necessary standards for new and refurbished premises.

3.7 To monitor initiatives, priorities and progress in relation to space management and the development of the School-wide Accommodation Plan, in liaison with appropriate School committees.

4. Authority delegated from the SMG:

Reference is to be made to the general Scheme of Delegation;

Thresholds of expenditure for alterations under £25,000 within Departmental budgets

Thresholds of expenditure beyond Departmental budgets but within the authority of the Director of Estates (DoE)

Thresholds of expenditure within the authority of the CFO and FD, beyond that of the DoE

Thresholds requiring FC approval

Additionally items that are of significant political sensitivity may be brought for SMG decision.

5.  Arrangements for the Group to report on the exercise of its delegated authority:

5.1 The Group shall report significant decisions to the SMC, and further committees where relevant (Finance Committee, Estates Strategy Committee and/or Council) following each occasion on which it takes action under 4.2.1 of a key financial or key organisational nature.

5.2 The SMG will submit a report on key activity on a termly basis to SMC and additionally as required with regard to any specific decision of significant impact.

6. Arrangements for the performance of the functions, duties and responsibilities delegated:

6.1 The business of the Space Management Group may if necessary be conducted through telephone or e-mail (virtual) and subject to the Chair’s requirements be acted upon as if quorum had been reached.



The SMG is formed to decide strategic and tactical space allocation, alignment and priorities of the Academic, Research and Divisional accommodation throughout the School. 

Decisions relating to space allocation, development and the strategic plans of the School must be discussed and agreed by this group. 


 Name Status 
Prof David Webb Pro Director for Planning and Resources (CFO) and Space Management Champion Ex officio (Chair)
Dr Andrew Young Chief Operating Officer Ex officio
Julian Robinson Director of Estates Ex officio 
 Richard Jenden Director of Property and Space Strategy Ex officio
David Coombe Director, Research Division Ex officio
Laura Dawson Director of Information Management and Technology Ex officio
Mike Ferguson Finance Director Ex officio
Linda Taylor ARD: Timetables Manager Ex officio
Nancy Baltouna Space Planning and Analysis Manager Ex officio
Phoebe Dunster Secretary (Estates Division)  


Schedule of Meetings


May 2018

  • Wednesday 9 May 2018 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

June 2018

  • Wednesday 6 June 2018 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

July 2018

  • Wednesday 4 July 2018 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

September 2018

  • Wednesday 26 September 2018 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

October 2018

  • Wednesday 31 October 2018 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

December 2018

  • Wednesday 12 December 2018 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

January 2019

  • Wednesday 23 January 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

March 2019

  • Wednesday 6 March 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

April 2019

  • Wednesday 10 April 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

May 2019

  • Wednesday 8 May 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

June 2019

  • Wednesday 5 June 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

July 2019

  • Wednesday 3 July 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

October 2019

  • Wednesday 2 October 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

November 2019

  • Wednesday 6 November 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

December 2019

  • Wednesday 11 December 2019 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

January 2020

  • Wednesday 29 January 2020 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

March 2020

  • Wednesday 4 March 2020 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

April 2020

  • Wednesday 8 April 2020 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

May 2020

  • Wednesday 6 May 2020 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

June 2020

  • Wednesday 3 June 2020 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

July 2020

  • Wednesday 1 July 2020 at 09:30 in 1KW 3.01f

Minutes, agendas and other papers

Minutes, agendas and other papers are distributed on a regular basis to committee members. With effect from 1st August 2018, SMG minutes showing agreed decisions will be made available to all LSE Staff members.

SMG Meeting 26 September 2018 minutes (PDF)
SMG Meeting 31 October 2018 minutes (PDF)

Any requests falling outside of this can be made using a Freedom of Information request, contact the School's Records Manager,

General Terms and Conditions applying to the delegation of powers by the Council to all committees

  • The SMG shall comply with the terms of the delegated authority.
  • The Council may revoke or vary the delegation through SMC.
  • It is the duty of each committee to keep SMC informed of its work as appropriate, or on request from the Council. Committees will be responsible for determining whether issues of significance they are progressing should be reported to Council for information.
  • Committees may handle expenditure decisions within existing budgets, but all proposals from committees involving additional expenditure beyond approved budgets should be referred to the CFO or FC, as appropriate.
  • Committees may not change their ToRs without the approval of SMC.
  • The quorum for the Space Management Group shall be 3 members, one of which must be the Chair.