Academic Mentoring Portal

What is Academic Mentoring at LSE? 

Academic mentoring is an int­­egral part of education at LSE and critical to building an inclusive scholarly community at the School for everyone. It is also part of the LSE 2030 Strategy, the Inclusive Education Action Plan, the Student Mental Health and Wellbeing Framework and Curriculum Shift 2020

Academic mentors are students’ first point of contact with the academic community and it is a positive worthwhile relationship for academics and students: “I think the time with your mentor, it’s very important when you see your mentor, that it is just you and your mentor” (Second Year Undergraduate Student). 

The portal is the outcome of a multi-year research project into academic support at LSE involving staff and students. To access further information please click on the tabs below with separate information and resources for staff and students:

academic mentoring portal options

 Careers - PhD Academy - for AMP student page

 staff home page icon main

 Academic Mentoring Portal for Students

Academic Mentoring Portal for Staff 


Academic Mentoring Key Contacts for Staff and Students

Academic Mentoring at LSE - key contacts

Phone numbers and email addresses for key contacts at LSE

Name

Email

Extension

Accommodation office

accommodation@lse.ac.uk

7531

Assessment and Regulations Team

ssc.appeals@lse.ac.uk

7139

Counselling (staff)

staff.counselling@lse.ac.uk

6953

Counselling (students)

student.counselling@lse.ac.uk

3627

Course selection queries

ssc.coursechoice@lse.ac.uk

7758

Disability and Wellbeing Service

disability-dyslexia@lse.ac.uk

7767

Emergency requiring Security

 

666

Exam queries

exams@lse.ac.uk

1249

Faith Centre

faithcentre@lse.ac.uk

7234

Fees

 

5555

Financial Support

financial-support@lse.ac.uk

6609

Graduate Admissions

 

7160

Graduation

ceremonies@lse.ac.uk

7966

Immigration Support and Visa Advice Team Manager (to book appointments, use the online form or contact student services centre)

b.ovens@lse.ac.uk

6853

Language Centre

languages@lse.ac.uk

6713

Library

library.enquiries@lse.ac.uk

7229

LSE Careers

careers@lse.ac.uk

7135

LSE LIFE Reception desk

 lselife@lse.ac.uk

3580

LSESU, including Advice Centre

su.info@lse.ac.uk

7158

LSE100

lse100@lse.ac.uk

5361

Off Campus Support Scheme

offcampussupport@lse.ac.uk

6337

Repeat Teaching and Exceptional Progression

ssc.repeatteaching@lse.ac.uk

6167

Results team

registry@lse.ac.uk

4994

School Senior Advocate for Students- Pete Evanson

p.evanson@lse.ac.uk

5801

St Philips Medical Centre

 

0207 611 5131

Student IT Help Desk

it.helpdesk@lse.ac.uk

5000

Student Services Centre

ssc.advice@lse.ac.uk

6167

Switchboard

 

0207 405 7686

Eden Centre for Education Enhancement 

eden@lse.ac.uk 

6638

Timetables

timetables@lse.ac.uk

6333

TQARO (Head, Thomas Hewlett)

t.w.hewlett@lse.ac.uk

6387

Volunteer Centre

volunteer@lse.ac.uk

2952

Widening Participation

widening.participation@lse.ac.uk

4907

Academic Mentors Community of Practice

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic the Eden Centre has established an Academic Mentors Community of Practice which meets fortnightly. If you would like to join the community of practice please get in touch with Dr Akile Ahmet, Academic Developer for Inclusive Education: a.ahmet@lse.ac.uk.

Academic Mentors Community of Practice: Co-Developed Resources

Academic Mentor messages to students

Stephanie Lambert, Undergraduate Tutor and Academic Mentor to all second and third year BSc Management students at LSE.

Kasia Krajniewska,  Undergraduate Tutor to 3rd year students, LSE Department of Economics.

PowerPoint material

Academic Mentoring Good Practice Guidance

Academic Mentoring Shifts and Expectations: Findings from Eden Centre Research on Academic Mentoring

Academic Mentoring: Caring or Crisis Management

Further Resources

Academic Mentoring at a distance FAQs

Creating and negotiating a principled online learning space

DWS have updated their guidance on inclusion plans and online teaching and accessibility.

New Academic Induction Moodle Page

LSE Teaching Online Moodle Resource Page

Leaky pipelines and faculty mentors: who is really helped?

Is career mentoring a panacea for gender inequality?