Academic Mentoring Portal

What is Academic Mentoring at LSE? 

Academic mentoring is an int­­egral part of education at LSE and critical to building an inclusive scholarly community at the School for everyone. It is also part of the LSE 2030 Strategy, the Inclusive Education Action Plan, and the Student Mental Health and Wellbeing Framework.

Academic mentors are students’ first point of contact with the academic community and it is a positive worthwhile relationship for both academics and students.

The portal is the outcome of a multi-year research project into academic support at LSE involving staff and students. To access further information please click on the tabs below with separate information and resources for staff and students:

academic mentoring portal options

 Careers - PhD Academy - for AMP student page

 staff home page icon main

 Academic Mentoring Portal for Students

Academic Mentoring Portal for Staff 


Academic Mentoring Key Contacts for Staff and Students

Academic Mentoring at LSE - key contacts

Phone numbers and email addresses for key contacts at LSE

Name

Email

Accommodation office

accommodation@lse.ac.uk

Assessment and Regulations Team

ssc.appeals@lse.ac.uk

Counselling (staff)

staff.counselling@lse.ac.uk

Counselling (students)

student.counselling@lse.ac.uk

Course selection queries

ssc.coursechoice@lse.ac.uk

Disability and Wellbeing Service

disability-dyslexia@lse.ac.uk

Exam queries

exams@lse.ac.uk

Faith Centre

faithcentre@lse.ac.uk

Financial Support

financial-support@lse.ac.uk

Graduation

ceremonies@lse.ac.uk

Immigration Support and Visa Advice Team Manager (to book appointments, use the online form or contact student services centre)

b.ovens@lse.ac.uk

Language Centre

languages@lse.ac.uk

Library

library.enquiries@lse.ac.uk

LSE Careers

careers@lse.ac.uk

LSE LIFE Reception desk

 lselife@lse.ac.uk

LSESU, including Advice Centre

su.info@lse.ac.uk

LSE100

lse100@lse.ac.uk

Off Campus Support Scheme

offcampussupport@lse.ac.uk

Repeat Teaching and Exceptional Progression

ssc.repeatteaching@lse.ac.uk

Results team

registry@lse.ac.uk

School Senior Advocate for Students- Pete Evanson

p.evanson@lse.ac.uk

Student IT Help Desk

it.helpdesk@lse.ac.uk

Student Services Centre

ssc.advice@lse.ac.uk

Eden Centre for Education Enhancement 

eden@lse.ac.uk 

Timetables

timetables@lse.ac.uk

TQARO (Head, Thomas Hewlett)

t.w.hewlett@lse.ac.uk

Volunteer Centre

volunteer@lse.ac.uk

Widening Participation

widening.participation@lse.ac.uk

Academic Mentors Community of Practice

The Eden Centre has established an Academic Mentors Community of Practice which meets twice termly to discuss all aspects of the role of an academic mentor at LSE.

If you would like to join the community of practice please get in touch with Dr Jaskiran (Kiran) Kaur Bhogal, Academic Developer for Inclusive Education (j.k.bhogal@lse.ac.uk)      

Academic Mentors Community of Practice: Co-Developed Resources

Academic Mentor messages to students

Paulette Annon, Undergraduate Tutor, LSE Department of Management

PowerPoint material

Academic Mentoring Good Practice Guidance

Academic Mentoring Shifts and Expectations: Findings from Eden Centre Research on Academic Mentoring

Academic Mentoring: Caring or Crisis Management

Resources

Key information for LSE Academic Mentors

Academic Mentoring at a distance FAQs

Creating and negotiating a principled online learning space

DWS have updated their guidance on inclusion plans and online teaching and accessibility.

LSE Teaching Online Moodle Resource Page

Leaky pipelines and faculty mentors: who is really helped?

Is career mentoring a panacea for gender inequality?