Meet the team


School Secretary

  

School Secretary
Louise Nadal

Tel. 020 7849 4959 | L.Nadal@lse.ac.uk

Louise's role is to manage all legal compliance and governance activities on behalf of the School, to act as Secretary to the Council and clerk of the Court of Governors, providing active support to the Director in relation to these matters and on the strategic management of the School, as well as undertaking any projects the School Director may require.

Executive Assistant to School Secretary
Danny Hassell

Tel. 0207 955 7554 | d.p.hassell@lse.ac.uk

Danny's role is to provide support to the School Secretary in terms of prioritising activities, coordinating the Secretary's schedule, arranging contract signings, and carrying out any tasks required by the Secretary.

Governance Team

 

Interim Head of Governance 

Jim Benson 

Tel. 0207 955 6866 | j.benson2@lse.ac.uk

Jim leads the Governance team and ensures that the members and work of the School Council, Court and their Committees are supported and administers the framework of governance documents. 

 

Governance Officer and Secretary to the Academic Board

Connie Jacobs

Tel. 020 7107 6811 | c.e.jacobs@lse.ac.uk | academic.board@lse.ac.uk

Connie is the Secretary to the Academic Board, the School's principal academic advisory body; Secretary to the Governance Committe; and Secretary to the Regulations, Policies and Standards Sub Committee of Education Committee. As part of her role as Secretary to the Academic Board she also manages the Academic Nominations Committee, which is responsible for filling certain academic posts and vacancies on School committees for which the Academic Board is the appointing authority.

 

Governance Officer

Mike Smith BSc(Hons), Chartered Secretary

Tel. 020 7955 7556 | m.d.smith2@lse.ac.uk

Mike is the secretary to the Audit Committee and Ethics Committee. He is also the person to speak to to about the use of our board portal software, Convene. 

 

Sue Donnelly - LSE Archivist 

Tel. 020 7955 2840 | s.donnelly@lse.ac.uk   

Sue manages LSE’s institutional archive and advises on the selection and transfer of records to the archive and its use in supporting School business. She also manages the School’s art collection.

 

 

George Mathias - Governance and Legal Assistant

Tel. 020 7955 7120 | G.A.Mathias@lse.ac.uk

Hilary Hunter - Head of Governance Services 

H.A.Hunter1@lse.ac.uk

Ceri Hunter - Governance Officer

C.Hunter1@lse.ac.uk



Legal Team

 

Head of Legal Team
Kevin Haynes BA(Hons) MA
Tel. 020 79557823 |  K.J.Haynes@lse.ac.uk

Kevin's background is in compliance, regulation, complaints and litigation. He is responsible for the School’s Legal Team, which deals with student complaints, litigation and misconduct cases, dispute resolution, contracts and other legal agreements, Data Protection and Freedom of Information, ethics, insurance, Intellectual Property, records management and the School’s relationship with external providers of legal services.

Legal Adviser
Refel Ismail LLB (Hons), LLM 
Tel:020 7955 6171 | r.ismail@lse.ac.uk

Refel is a qualified Solicitor with a Master of Laws (LLM) in International Law. She has several years of experience working in private practice, within the legal section of a Government Department and the Council. Additionally, she has worked within the legal team of  a charity and a non-governmental organisation on a pro bono basis.  Prior to joining the London School of Economics and Political Science, she was the Head of Legal Affairs at an Embassy in London.

Refel is currently responsible for dealing with various legal matters,  preparing, advising and amending various contracts and other types of agreements, advising and dealing with student cases, complaints and disciplinary matters, litigation and dispute resolution, Intellectual property issues, data protection, insurance and updating and developing various policies and procedures of the School.

Ethics Manager
Stephanie Allison BSc(Hons) MSc (Advanced Social Research Methods)
Tel. 020 7955 7975 | S.Allison@lse.ac.uk

Stephanie's background is in social research, evaluation, consultation and participation. She has experience of government and public sectors, in research and business ethics. She holds an ILM Project Management qualification. Stephanie is responsible for the Ethics Code, ethics queries and concerns, including the whistleblowing process, conflicts of interest, the School’s register of interests and annual declaration exercise, gifts and hospitality, developing policies, procedures, briefings, training materials and guidelines relating to ethical matters. She is the secretary to the Ethics Policy Committee  and the Ethics (Grants and Donations) Panel.

Records Manager
Rachael Maguire
BSc LLM (Information Rights Law) GDip (Information Services)
Tel: 020 7849 4622 | R.E.Maguire@lse.ac.uk

Rachael is responsible for records management, managing FoI and DPA requests, managing DPA queries and compliance, developing policies, procedures, briefings, training materials and guidelines relating to records management and information rights. She is the Chair of the Information Management Steering Group. Rachael is a member of 365 Governance Board, My View Working Group, Service Division Advisory Group (IMT related), ISO27001 Project Board, Information Security Advisory Board (ex-officio) and the leader of HE/FE Retention Schedule Working Group.