News and events

All are welcome to attend Spectrum meetings and events. Check here for updates and announcements.

 

LGBT History Month

The following events are planned to mark LGBT History Month at LSE.

OUTing the Past: healthcare and activism
1pm Thursday 6 February 2020
Hosted by the LSE Library

OUTing the Past: performance and broadcast
6.30pm-8pm Thursday 6 February 2020
Hosted by the LSE Library

LGBT History Month Pub Quiz (CANCELLED)
6.30pm-8.30pm Friday 14 February
Hosted by LSE Spectrum
*We hope to reschedule this event for Pride Month.

LGBT History Month Lunch
12.30pm-1.30pm Tuesday 18 February
Hosted by LSE Spectrum

Film screening: “Paris is Burning”
6.30pm-8.30pm Friday 21 February
Hosted by LSE Embrace and LSE Spectrum

Social Revolution: women's liberation and gay liberation in the 1970s and 80s
9am Monday 20 January 2020 to 7pm Friday 3 April 2020
Hosted by the LSE Library
*Allies' lunchtime tour planned for 12.30-1.30pm on Tuesday 11 February. To attend and/or join Spectrum's Allies Network contact Rose Deller at R.Deller@lse.ac.uk
*Lunchtime tour open to all planned for 12.30-1.30pm on Wednesday 26 February.

Other upcoming events

LSE EmbRace & Parents and Carers Network Event
12.30pm-2pm Wednesday 26 February
Hosted by LSE Embrace and LSE Parents and Carers Network

Upcoming meetings

Spectrum holds open meetings once a month. There is an agenda but it's also an informal space to get together and chat. All staff are welcome to attend. 

2020 meeting dates:

Tuesday 18 February 12.30-1.30pm - LGBT History Month lunch, CON.7.05
Thursday 19 March, 10.30-11.30am, NAB.8.02
Tuesday 21 April, 12.30-1.30pm, NAB.8.01
Thursday 21 May, 12.30-1.30pm, NAB.8.01
Tuesday 16 June, 10.30-11.30am - Pride Month coffee morning, 32L.1.05
Thursday 23 July, 12.30-1.30pm, NAB.8.01

To receive more information in advance, sign up to our mailing list.

Call for committee members

The following roles are available for 2019/20:

  • Events lead

To apply, email spectrum@lse.ac.uk with a short explainer paragraph.

Note: all committee members must be LSE staff members who identify as LGBTQ+. To be the trans or bi champion you must identify accordingly. If you do not identify as LGBTQ+ then we would love for you to get involved by joining our allies group. Spectrum meetings and events are open to interested staff of all sexual orientations and gender identities.