Public Exhibition of Architectural Design Competition

LSE organised a public exhibition of the six design submissions between 2 March – 17 March 2016 which proved to be very popular. Visitors could vote online for their preferred design and over 1500 votes were cast, far higher than at any previous similar LSE exhibition. The overwhelming majority of votes were cast for schemes A and D with less than 20 votes separating the two. Due to their subjective nature the public votes are advisory and do not form part of the formal assessment process but the Jury Panel was pleased to note that their decision to select Grafton Architects was not at odds with the voters general preference. The outcome and who voted is set out in the tables below. Even if the 543  ‘other’ non LSE votes are removed the outcome and ranking remains the same. The anonymity of the six teams has now been removed.  

How votes were cast

How votes were cast
Design team referenceTeam nameResponse Nos.%Ranking 
Team A Diller Scofidio+ Renfo and Penoyre & Prasad  408  26% 1
Team B Naill McLaughlin Architects with Scott Brownrigg  265 17% 3
Team C Herzog & de Meuron 197 13% 4
Team D Grafton Architecs 392 25% 2
Team E Ala Amanda Levete Architects 196 12% 5
Team F David Chipperfield Architects 112 7% 6
Total   1570 100%  

Who Voted

Who Voted
 Group Response Nos. %
 Student  584  37%
 Staff - Academic  72  5%
 Staff- non Academic  220  14%
 Alumus  149  9%
 Governor  2  0%
 Other  543  35%
 Total  1570  100%

Each Team submitted four images and five information boards detailing their proposed scheme.  If you would like to view the information boards and images please contact to request these.