Mental Health Staff Champions

Our aim is to combat the stigma around mental health and make it part of normal conversation.

Mental Health Staff Champions are colleagues who take action in the workplace to change the way we all think and act about mental health.

Supported by Mind’s Mentally Healthy Universities pilot programme, we've undertaken mental health awareness training. We're working to combat stigma around mental health and make it part of normal conversation.

We aim to make a real difference to workplace culture and to the lives of our colleagues by:

  • Starting conversations about mental health
  • Holding activities to make mental health a normal topic of conversation
  • Helping to dispel myths and stereotypes
  • Providing peer support
  • Signposting colleagues appropriately to support

Find out more about us here and get in touch to talk about mental health and wellbeing.

 

Meet your Mental Health Champions

Emma Ceccato - Marketing Manager, Department of Health Policy

Emma Ceccato

I believe that it’s important to nurture our mental health and wellbeing, just like we nurture our physical health. I’m passionate about ending mental health stigma and supporting others to find ways to maintain their mental wellbeing and provide a safe place to talk if they need it.

Contact me: e.ceccato1@lse.ac.uk

 

Farah Chowdhury, Marketing and Communications Officer, LSE Careers

Farah Chowdhury

I want to be part of the conversation - and change - for the way we think, speak about and understand wellbeing and mental health. I hope that together we can share diverse stories of wellbeing in our community and create a positive and supportive culture. I’m also a mental health first aider at LSE. Fun fact: I’m a trained henna artist and will (hopefully) be doing a floristry course soon too!

Contact me: f.chowdhury3@lse.ac.uk

 

Martha Clarke - Undergraduate Programmes Coordinator, Department of Geography and Environment

Martha Clarke

I became a Mental Health Champion because I wanted to share some of the coping mechanisms that have been shared with me. In doing so, I hope to start an open, honest and empathic conversation about mental health in the workplace.

Contact me: m.k.clarke@lse.ac.uk

 

Faith Corby - Events & Communications Officer, PhD Academy

blank-profile-picture

I’m a champion because I've suffered with mental health problems now and in the past and feel it's important to be able to have conversations around it.

Contact me: f.corby@lse.ac.uk

 

Juli Ekwesh - Security Officer, LSE Estates

blank-profile-picture

Contact me: j.u.ekwesh@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Rosa Gil - Front of House Manager, Rosebery Hall, Residential Services

blank-profile-picture

Contact me: r.gil@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Muhammed Sabih Iqbal - PG Programme Manager, Department of Accounting

blank-profile-picture

I'm a wellbeing champion because I would like to start the conversation about mental health within LSE. I believe emotional and mental health is very important to our day-to-day life and creating awareness is a start. I can Speak Urdu and conversational Hindi. Fun fact: I self-taught myself level 1 of British sign language.

Contact me: m.s.iqbal@lse.ac.uk

 

Aba Maison - Project Manager, Business Improvement Unit

blank-profile-picture

I became a Mental Health Champion because I believe it’s so important to raise awareness around mental health and encourage a mentally healthy, supportive working environment. I am also a Mental Health First Aider.

Contact me: a.maison@lse.ac.uk

 

Jackie Martin - Executive MSc Programmes Administrator, Depatment of Health Policy

Jackie Martin

Psychology and mental wellbeing are subjects that are close to my heart. I believe encouraging people to talk openly about how they feel is important and is why I became a Mental Health Champion. I am also a mental health first-aider, and an EDI (Equity, Diversity & Inclusion) representative.

Contact me: j.e.martin3@lse.ac.uk

 

Sarah Massey - Departmental Administrator: Communications & Student Support, Department of Mathematics

Sarah Massey

Good mental health and support is important for everyone at any time, so I became a Champion to help support colleagues around me, as well as the wider staff community at LSE. I’m already here to support students – why should I exclude my colleagues!

Contact me: s.l.massey@lse.ac.uk

Read my blog post on wellbeing and working from home.

 

Godwin Ogbeide - Security Officer, LSE Estates

blank-profile-picture

Contact me: g.i.ogbeide@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Andrea Pawley - Graduate Programmes Manager, Department of Philosophy

Andrea Pawley

I believe it's important to promote good mental health and help breaking the stigma around it. I would like to encourage colleagues to look after their mental health and speak up for themselves or others when they feel unwell. I'm a German speaker and a Mental Health First Aider.

Contact me: a.pawley@lse.ac.uk

 

Dave Poole - MSc Programmes and Communications Administrator, Department of Methodology

Dave Poole

Anyone can experience mental health problems. I became a champion to offer support to those around me and to create a positive and understanding culture that is aware of mental health and values its importance.

Contact me: d.poole1@lse.ac.uk

 

Maria do Prado - Course Administrator, Department of INternational Development

Maria do Prado

We need to care for each other the same way we care about our students and fostering an environment where we feel free to talk about our mental health without fear of being stigmatised is primordial. I want to champion this idea. My mother language is Portuguese, and I have an intermediate level of Spanish.

Contact me: m.a.do-prado@lse.ac.uk

 

Michele Sahrle - Deputy Head of Student Services, ARD: Student Services Centre

blank-profile-picture

Contact me: m.sahrle@lse.ac.uk

 


 

Judith Shapiro - Senior Lecturer in Practice, Department of Economics

blank-profile-picture

Contact me: j.c.shapiro@lse.ac.uk

 

 

David Trodden - Tutor & Academic mentor to first year UG students, Department of Accounting

blank-profile-picture

I'm a champion for my students and I wish to extend the same support to my colleagues. No magic wands, however I'm always willing to listen, maybe over a cup of tea. I’m also a Mental Health First Aider. Fun fact: I have four children and one grandson.

Contact me: d.trodden@lse.ac.uk

 

Rachel Yarham - Doctoral Programme Administrator, Department of Law

Rachel Yarham

I became a champion as good mental health and a support network is important for everyone. I'm on the Staff Mental Health & Wellbeing Working Group and am also a Staff Mentor.

Contact me: r.yarham@lse.ac.uk