Academic Board

Academic Board sits at the apex of an extensive and sophisticated system of academic governance where the delegation of specific responsibilities to its sub-committees means that the Academic Board is able to fulfil its academic governance and compliance role effectively. The committee structure is shown here.

There are over a thousand members of the Academic Board, which comprises the majority of academic and research staff, and seven student representatives.

Please refer to the Academic Board’s terms of reference below for a full description of its responsibilities.  

If you have any queries then please contact the Secretary to the Academic Board at


(a) the Director

(b) full-time and part-time Professors, Readers, Senior Lecturers, Lecturers, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors, Professorial Lecturers, Associate Professorial Lecturers, and Assistant Professorial Lecturers;

(c) full-time and part-time Teaching and LSE Fellows;

(d) full-time and part-time Principal Research Fellows, Senior Research Fellows, Research Fellows, Assistant Professorial Research Fellows, Associate Professorial Research Fellows. Professorial Research Fellows, and Research Officers;

(e) seven students always including the General Secretary of the Students’ Union, the Education Officer, the Postgraduate Officer, and three other students, one of whom must be a postgraduate, and a Graduate Teaching Assistant.

(f) such other persons whose presence will contribute positively to the business under consideration, to be co-opted by agreement between the Chair and VCAB.

Terms of reference

To the Academic Board are brought all major issues of general policy affecting the academic life of the School and its development. The Academic Board is responsible  for monitoring and upholding the academic standards of the School and for regulating teaching. Specifically, its functions include:  

(a) to make periodic reviews of the scope and content of the array of taught degree programmes and component courses and to guide its future development;

(b) to authorise the award of degrees (other than honorary degrees and honorary fellowships), diplomas, certificates and other distinctions to persons who have satisfied the conditions for the award thereof as prescribed in and pursuant to the Bye-laws;

(c) to prescribe the circumstances in which a student may be required or permitted to withdraw temporarily or permanently and either conditionally or unconditionally from all or any part of his or her programme of study on grounds other than disciplinary grounds;

(d) to appoint, remove or suspend examiners;

(e) to endorse for onward transmission to Council matters affecting the School’s academic governance, management arrangements and academic strategy;

(f) to endorse for onward transmission to Council recommendations from APRC on the organisation of departments and other academic units;

(g) to approve recommendations in relation to academic and pastoral support for students as appropriate;

(h) to promote research within the School and to require reports from time to time on such research;

(i) to approve academic regulations and changes therein;

(j) to recommend changes from time to time to the School’s Bye-laws;

(k) to approve academic policies which have School-wide implications;

(l) to receive annual reports from its Standing Committees

(m) to agree with Council those matters on which it will routinely consult with the Academic Board;

(n) to declare a position on any matter of interest to the Academic Board, and bring it to the attention of Council through a resolution. 

Meeting Schedule

All meetings in Michaelmas Term will be held via Zoom. 

Members will recieve details on how to join via email when they receive the meeting papers. If you have not recieved details on how to access via Zoom, please contact

October 2020

  • Wednesday, 28 October 2020 at 14:00 via Zoom 

December 2020

  •  Wednesday, 2 December 2020 at 14:00 via Zoom 

February 2021 

  • Wednesday, 10 February 2021 at 14:00  

March 2021 

  • Wednesday, 17 March 2020 at 14:00

May 2021

  •  Wednesday, 12 May 2020 at 14:00 

June 2021

  •  Wednesday, 9 June 2020 at 14:00 

Deadlines for Papers

AB Agenda Committee

Academic Board

Paper deadline and papers circulated


Papers circulated


Thursday 8 October 2020

Thursday 15 October 2020

Wednesday 21 October 2020

Wednesday 28 October 2020

Thursday 12 November 2020

Thursday 19 November 2020

Wednesday 25 November 2020

Wednesday 2 December 2020

Thursday 21 January 2021

Friday 28 January 2021

Wednesday 3 February 2021

Wednesday 10 February 2021

Thursday 25 February 2021

Friday 4 March 2021

Wednesday 10 March 2021

Wednesday 17 March 2021

Thursday 22 April 2021 (out of term time)

Thursday 29 April 2021 (out of term time)

Wednesday 5 May 2021

Wednesday 12 May 2021

Thursday 20 May 2021

Thursday 27 May 2021

Wednesday 2 June 2021

Wednesday 9 June 2021

Committees of Academic Board

Academic Board Constituency Groups

Group 1

Accounting, Finance, Management, and the Marshall Institute (also includes Financial Markets Group and Systemic Risk Centre)

Group 2

International Development, European Institute, Government,  International Relations, School of Public Policy and Institute of Global Affairs (also includes the Middle East Centre)

Group 3

Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Philosophy Logic and Scientific Method and Methodology (also includes STICERD, CEP, IGC, CFM, CATS, CPNSS).

Group 4

Anthropology, Gender Institute, Media and Communications, Social Policy, Health Policy, Psychological and Behavioural Science, Sociology, Languages, LSE100, and the International Inequalities Institute (also includes LSE Cities, CASE, LSE Health)

Group 5

Economic History, Geography and Environment, International History and Law (also includes Grantham, CCEP, What Works).