The Directorate


Find out more about the Directorate and the Directorate Support Team.

LSE is a special place – rooted in London yet with a truly international outlook. This is one of the many reasons why I am excited to be working here.
Dame Minouche Shafik, Director of LSE
800px.Nemat_Shafik_Portrait

Dame Minouche Shafik

Director

You can find out more about Dame Shafik on the Meet the Director webpage.

Julia-Black-2014-Cropped-200x200

Professor Julia Black

Pro-Director (Research)

View Professor Black's profile.

 

Paul Kelly 200x200

Professor Paul Kelly

Pro-Director (Education)

View Professor Kelly's profile.

 

Dilly_Fung_8000

Professor Dilly Fung

Incoming Pro-Director (Education)

e.neumayer_lse.ac.uk

Professor Eric Neumayer

Pro-Director (Faculty Development)

View Professor Neumayer's profile.

 

Webb_195x272

Professor David Webb

Pro-Director (Planning & Resources)

View Professor Webb's profile.

 

Andrew.Young

Andrew Young

Chief Operating Officer

View Andrew Young's profile.

 

Directorate Support Team

The support team enable and assist the Directorate in their daily operations.

Selina_Hanniford_4998 (1)

Selina Hannaford

Head of Directorate Office

Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3675
Email: s.hannaford@lse.ac.uk

The HDO provides strategic and operational support to the Director, including horizon scanning, national and international policy analysis, and internal policy advice and development. She develops concepts and manages them through to implementation, including complex programme and project management, significant research activity, speechwriting and preparing briefings and presentations. She is a member of Service Leaders Forum and is responsible for the overall leadership and management of the Directorate support team, ensuring the provision of a modern and efficient office for the Director, Pro-Directors and COO.

Person icon

Lucy Shackleton

Executive Officer to the Director

 

Lucy's tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7968
Lucy's email: L.Shackleton@lse.ac.uk

The Executive Officer to the Director ensures the provision of a high level of administrative support over the full range of the Director’s responsibilities and the provision of appropriate briefing. 

Andy_Wilson_4955 (1)

Alana_Lythgoe_5053 (1)

Person icon

 

Andy Wilson (on parental leave); Alana Lythgoe; Thomas Watson (on secondment)

Executive Officers

Andy's tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5214
Andy's email: a.wilson5@lse.ac.uk

 

Alana's tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3601
Alana's email: a.lythgoe@lse.ac.uk

 

Thomas's tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5214
Thomas's email: T.Watson@lse.ac.uk

The Executive Officers provide high-level support to SMC in a wide range of work including internal policy advice and development, programme and project management, coordination of School-wide initiatives, research activity, preparing briefings, and relationship management. They are responsible for line management of the Executive Assistants, Administrative Assistant and Apprentice Receptionist.

The Directorate support team includes a pool of Executive Assistants who manage the professional agendas and provide support to up to two members of SMC. Designations for 2017/18 have been confirmed as follows:

Laura_Ross_3955

Laura Ross

Executive Assistant to the Director, Dame Minouche Shafik

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7100
Email: l.v.ross@lse.ac.uk

Person icon

Emma Davies

Executive Assistant to the Pro-Director (Research), Professor Julia Black

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6285
Email: e.davies1@lse.ac.uk

Marlene

Marlene Worrell

Executive Assistant to Pro-Director (Education), Professor Paul Kelly, Incoming Pro-Director (Education), Professor Dilly Fung, and Pro-Director (Planning and Resources), Professor David Webb

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7014
Email: m.worrell@lse.ac.uk

Marta.1

Marta Gajewska

Executive Assistant to Chief Operating Officer, Andrew Young and Pro-Director (Faculty Development), Professor Eric Neumayer

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7007
Email: m.gajewska@lse.ac.uk

Kieran_Devlin_5092 (1)

Kieran Devlin

Administrative Assistant

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7464
Email: k.devlin1@lse.ac.uk

Person icon

Samara Wallace

Apprentice Receptionist

Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6682
Email: s.wallace1@lse.ac.uk

 The Directorate's working hours are 09.30 to 17.30 Monday to Friday.