Academic department PhD contacts

Get in touch with your department

.

Accounting

Doctoral programme director
Dr Andrea Mennicken
a.m.mennicken@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Sandra Ma
s.s.ma@lse.ac.uk

Department of Accounting 

Anthropology

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Charles Stafford,(MT)
c.stafford@lse.ac.uk

Dr Laura Bear, (LT & ST)
l.bear@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Yan Hinrichsen
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Anthropology

Economics

Doctoral programme director
Professor Balasz Szentes
b.szentes@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Mark Wilbor
m.s.wilbor@lse.ac.uk

Department of Economics

Economic History

Doctoral programme director
Professor Joan Roses 
j.r.roses@lse.ac.uk  

PhD administrator
Loraine Long
l.long@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Economic History

European Institute

Doctoral programme director
Dr Waltraud Schelkle
w.schelkle@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrator
Jennifer Robottom 
Europeaninstitute@lse.ac.uk

MPhil/PhD in European Studies

Current research students

Finance

Doctoral programme director
Professor Mike Burkart 
m.c.burkart@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Mary Comben 
m.comben@lse.ac.uk

Department of Finance

Gender Institute

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Diane Perrons 
d.perrons@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Hazel Johnstone
h.johnstone@lse.ac.uk

Gender Institute

Geography and Environment

Doctoral programme directors
Dr Olmo Silva (Geography)
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Prof Henry Overman (Economic Geography)
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Dr Ben Groom (Environmental Economics)
b.groom@lse.ac.uk

Dr Michael Mason (Environmental Policy & Development)
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Dr Murray Low (Human Geography & Urban Studies)
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk

Dr Nancy Holman (Regional Planning)
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Harriet Johnson 
h.johnson4@lse.ac.uk

Department of Geography and Environment

Government

Doctoral programme director
Dr Kai Spiekermann (MRes/PhD) & (MPhil/PhD)

PhD administrator
Vacancy
gov.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of Government

International Development

Doctoral programme directors
Dr Diana Weinhold
d.weinhold@lse.ac.uk

Professor David Keen 
d.keen@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Susan Hoult-Robinson
s.e.hoult@lse.ac.uk 

Department of International Development

International History

Doctoral programme director
Dr Piers N. Ludlow
n.p.ludlow@lse.ac.uk

PhD administator
Nayna Bhatti
n.bhatti@lse.ac.uk

Department of International History

International Relations

Doctoral programme director
Dr Tarak Barkawi
t.k.barkawi@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Gabrielle To
g.to@lse.ac.uk

Department of International Relations

Law

Doctoral programme director
Professor Susan Marks
s.marks@lse.ac.uk

Deputy Director, Dr Charlie Webb
c.e.webb@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Rachel Yarham
r.yarham@lse.ac.uk

Department of Law

Management

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Amitav Chakravarti
a.chakravarti@lse.ac.uk

Dr Ricardo Alonso (Business Economics)
r.alonso@lse.ac.uk

Professor David Marsden (Employment Relations & Organisational Behaviour)
d.marsden@lse.ac.uk

Professor Chrisanthi Avgerou (General Management)
c.avgerou@lse.ac.uk

Professor Jannis Kallinikos (Information Systems & Innovation)
j.kallinikos@lse.ac.uk

Professor Dr Richard Steinberg (Management Science)
r.steinberg@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Mr Leo Beattie
l.t.beattie@lse.ac.uk

Department of Management

Mathematics

Doctoral programme director
Professor Bernhard von Stengel
stengel@nash.lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Rebecca Lumb
r.c.lumb@lse.ac.uk

Department of Mathematics

Media and Communications

Doctoral programme director
Professor Sonia Livingstone
S.livingstone@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
James Deeley
J.A.deeley@lse.ac.uk

Department of Media and Communications

Methodology

Doctoral programme director
Ben Lauderdale
B.E.Lauderdale@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Esti Sidley
methodology.admin@lse.ac.uk

Department of Methodology

Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

Doctoral programme director
Professor Mike Otsuka
m.h.otsuka@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrators
Tom Hinrichsen
T.A.Hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk

Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

Psychological and Behavioural Science

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Cathy Campbell
c.campbell@lse.ac.uk

Dr Tom Reader
t.w.reader@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrators
Terri-Ann Fairclough
t.fairclough@lse.ac.uk

Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science

Social Policy

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Anne West
a.west@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrators
Aifsha Butt (Ash)
a.butt5@lse.ac.uk

Department of Social Policy

Sociology

Doctoral programme director
Professor Bridget Hutter
B.M.Hutter@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrators
Kalynka Bellman
k.bellman@lse.ac.uk

Department of Sociology

Statistics

Doctoral programme director
Professor Angelos Dassios
a.dassios@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Penny Montague
p.montague@lse.ac.uk

Department of Statistics