LSE100 Prize Giving Dinner 2018

LSE100 2018 Prize Giving Dinner 

Reform will not be brought about by shouting. What is needed is hard thinking.

On Wednesday 17th October, LSE100 celebrated the achievements of the top students from the 2017/18 cohort. At a dinner in the Staff Dining Room, we welcomed the 55 students who received prizes for Outstanding Academic Achievement, awarded to those students who received distinctions in all LSE100 assessments, and the four students who received the Sir Robert Worcester Prize for Exceptional Academic Performance, awarded for the highest overall mark on the course.


The evening began with a drinks reception in the Senior Common Room where the prize winners had an opportunity to network with other guests, including academics involved in the delivery of LSE100 and previous prize winners who attended the dinner as alumni of the School. The reception was followed by a speech from Professor Dilly Fung, Pro-Director (Education). Professor Fung congratulated the prize winners on their incredible achievement, noting that their performance put them in the top 3% of the students in their year on LSE100. She also highlighted the importance of LSE100 in shaping the students’ personal journeys and how their experiences on the course can help to influence their impact as future change-makers, both in their careers and in the world more widely. 


The students received their prizes from Professor Fung and from Dr Jessica Templeton, the Director of LSE100. Following the prize giving, guests enjoyed an excellent dinner provided by Joe Borg and his fantastic team in the SDR.

The evening was a great success, with this year’s prize winners taking advantage of the opportunity to hear from previous recipients of LSE100 awards. In particular, current students enjoyed having the chance to find out about the different paths that have been taken by alumni since leaving the School and what role LSE100 had in preparing them for life after LSE.


We hope you will join us in congratulating all the LSE100 prize winners from the 2017/18 cohort. For a full list of this year's winners please click here.

Dinner 1_747x560