Academic department PhD contacts

Get in touch with your department

.

Accounting

Doctoral programme directors (co-directors)
Dr Andrea Mennicken
a.m.mennicken@lse.ac.uk

Dr Maria Correia
m.m.correia@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Rebecca Baker
R.J.Baker@lse.ac.uk

Department of Accounting 

Anthropology

Doctoral programme director 

Dr Mathijis Pelkmans 

M.E.Pelkmans@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Yan Hinrichsen
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Anthropology


Economics

Doctoral programme director
Dr Johannes Spinnewijn
j.spinnewijn@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Emma Taverner
e.taverner@lse.ac.uk

Department of Economics

Economic History

Doctoral programme director
Dr Neil Cummins 
n.j.cummins@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Loraine Long
l.long@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Economic History

European Institute

Doctoral programme director

Dr Jonathan Hopkin 

j.r.hopkin@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Florence Samuels 
ei.phd@lse.ac.uk

MPhil/PhD in European Studies


Finance

Doctoral programme director
Professor Mike Burkart 
m.c.burkart@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Mary Comben 
m.comben@lse.ac.uk

Department of Finance

Gender Studies

Doctoral programme director
Professor Clare Hemmings
c.hemmings@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Hazel Johnstone
h.johnstone@lse.ac.uk

Gender Studies

Geography and Environment

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Olmo Silva (Director of Graduate Studies)
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Dr Felipe Carozzi (Economic Geography)
F.Carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor Simon Dietz (Environmental Economics)
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Dr Kasia Paprocki (Environmental Policy & Development)
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Dr Austin Zeiderman (Human Geography & Urban Studies)
A.Zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Dr Nancy Holman (Regional Planning)
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Peter Mills

Geog.Phd@lse.ac.uk                                             

Department of Geography and Environment


Government

Doctoral programme director

Professor Sara Holbolt 

s.b.hobolt@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Emily Metcalf
Gov.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Government


Health Policy

Doctoral programme director
Professor Andrew Street
a.street@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Muheez Busari & Lydia Hatton Baldwin
Healthpolicy.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Health Policy

International Development

Doctoral programme director
Dr Kate Meagher
k.meagher@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Ginny Pavey (Maternity cover 8 June 2020-8 June 2021)
Id.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of International Development

International History

Doctoral programme director
Dr Tanya Harmer 
T.harmer@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Nayna Bhatti
n.bhatti@lse.ac.uk

Department of International History

International Relations

Doctoral programme director
Professor Toby Dodge 
b.t.dodge@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Romy Mokogwu and Sarah Helias
ir.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of International Relations

Law

Doctoral programme director
Professor Gerry Simpson
g.j.simpson@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Rebecca Newman 
r.newman1@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Department of Law

Management

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Naufel Vilcassim (Main)

Dr Jonathan Booth (Employment Relations and Human Resources)

J.Booth@lse.ac.uk

Dr Niranjan Janardhanan (Organisational Behaviour)

N.S.Janardhanan@lse.ac.uk

Dr Xiaolin Li (Marketing)

X.Li166@lse.ac.uk

Dr Carsten Sørensen (Information Systems and Innovation)

C.Sorensen@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Emma Ward
e.ward1@lse.ac.uk

PhD Programmes Manager

Camilla Kennedy Harper

c.kennedy-harper@lse.ac.uk

Department of Management


Mathematics

Doctoral programme director
Dr Julia Boettcher
j.boettcher@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Enfale Farooq
E.Farooq@lse.ac.uk

Department of Mathematics


Media and Communications

Doctoral programme director

Professor Sarah Banet-Weiser 

s.banet-weiser@lse.ac.uk

 

PhD administrative contact
Leo Beattie
Media.Research@lse.ac.uk

Department of Media and Communications

Methodology

Doctoral programme director
Professor Patrick Sturgis
P.Sturgis@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Camilya Maleh
methodology.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of Methodology

Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

Doctoral programme director

Dr Jonathan Birch 
j.birch2@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Andrea Pawley
a.pawley@lse.ac.uk

Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

Psychological and Behavioural Science

Doctoral programme director
Professor Martin Bauer
M.Bauer@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Rebecca Lee
R.J.Lee2@lse.ac.uk

Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science

Social Policy

Doctoral programme director 
Dr Berkay Ozcan
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Abi Black
Socialpolicy.Phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Social Policy


Sociology

Doctoral programme director
Professor Mike Savage
m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Dr Laura Kemp
sociology.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Sociology

Statistics

Doctoral programme director
Professor Umut Cetin
U.Cetin@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Penny Montague
p.montague@lse.ac.uk

Department of Statistics