Academic department PhD contacts

Get in touch with your department

.

Accounting

Doctoral programme directors (co-directors)
Dr Andrea Mennicken
a.m.mennicken@lse.ac.uk

Dr Maria Correia
m.m.correia@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Rebecca Baker
R.J.Baker@lse.ac.uk

Department of Accounting 

Anthropology

Doctoral programme director 
Professor Charles Stafford (Michaelmas Term 2019/20)
c.stafford@lse.ac.uk

Dr Mathijis Pelkmans (Lent and Summer Terms 2019/20)
M.E.Pelkmans@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Yan Hinrichsen
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Anthropology


Economics

Doctoral programme director
Dr Johannes Spinnewijn
j.spinnewijn@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Mark Wilbor
M.S.Wilbor@lse.ac.uk

Department of Economics

Economic History

Doctoral programme director
Dr Neil Cummins 
n.j.cummins@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Loraine Long
l.long@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Economic History

European Institute

Doctoral programme director
Dr Waltraud Schelkle
w.schelkle@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Florence Samuels 
Euroinst.PhD.Admin@lse.ac.uk

MPhil/PhD in European Studies


Finance

Doctoral programme director
Professor Mike Burkart 
m.c.burkart@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Mary Comben 
m.comben@lse.ac.uk

Department of Finance

Gender Studies

Doctoral programme director
Professor Wendy Sigle
w.sigle@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Hazel Johnstone
h.johnstone@lse.ac.uk

Gender Studies

Geography and Environment

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Olmo Silva (Director of Graduate Studies)
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Dr Felipe Carozzi (Economic Geography)
F.Carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor Simon Dietz (Environmental Economics)
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Dr Kasia Paprocki (Environmental Policy & Development)
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Dr Austin Zeiderman (Human Geography & Urban Studies)
A.Zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Dr Nancy Holman (Regional Planning)
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Peter Mills

Geog.Phd@lse.ac.uk                                             

Department of Geography and Environment


Government

Doctoral programme director

Dr Kai Spiekermann
K.Spiekermann@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Emily Metcalf
Gov.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Government


Health Policy

Doctoral programme director
Professor Andrew Street
a.street@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Muheez Busari & Lydia Hatton Baldwin
Healthpolicy.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Health Policy

International Development

Doctoral programme director
Dr Elliot Green
e.d.green@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Nina Craven
Id.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of International Development

International History

Doctoral programme director
Dr Tanya Harmer
T.harmer@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Nayna Bhatti
n.bhatti@lse.ac.uk

Department of International History

International Relations

Doctoral programme director
Professor Tomila Lankina
t.lankina@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Sarah Helias and Romy Mokogwu
ir.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of International Relations

Law

Doctoral programme director
Professor Gerry Simpson
g.j.simpson@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Rachel Yarham
law.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Law

Management

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Naufel Vilcassim
N.Vilcassim@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Emma Ward
e.ward1@lse.ac.uk

Department of Management


Mathematics

Doctoral programme director
Dr Julia Boettcher
j.boettcher@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Enfale Farooq
E.Farooq@lse.ac.uk

Department of Mathematics


Media and Communications

Doctoral programme director

Professor Nick Couldry (Mchaelmas Term)
n.couldry@lse.ac.uk

Professor Lilie Chouliaraki (Lent Terms onwards)
l.chouliaraki@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
 Lwam Tesfay (until 19 November 2019 when Leo Beattie will resume the role)
media.communications.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Media and Communications

Methodology

Doctoral programme director
Professor Patrick Sturgis
P.Sturgis@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Samuel Scott
methodology.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of Methodology

Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

Doctoral programme director
Professor Christian List (Michaelmas Term 2019/20)
c.list@lse.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Birch (Lent and Summer Terms 2019/20)
j.birch2@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Andrea Pawley
a.pawley@lse.ac.uk

Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

Psychological and Behavioural Science

Doctoral programme director
Professor Martin Bauer
M.Bauer@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Rebecca Lee
R.J.Lee2@lse.ac.uk

Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science

Social Policy

Doctoral programme director (Joint)
Dr Tim Hildebrandt
t.r.hildebrandt@lse.ac.uk

Dr Berkay Ozcan
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Abi Black
Socialpolicy.Phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Social Policy

Sociology

Doctoral programme director
Dr Carrie Friese
C.Friese@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Abi Black (Interim)
A.A.Black@lse.ac.uk

Department of Sociology

Statistics

Doctoral programme director
Professor Umut Cetin
U.Cetin@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Penny Montague
p.montague@lse.ac.uk

Department of Statistics