Academic department PhD contacts

Get in touch with your department

.

Accounting

Doctoral programme directors (co-directors)
Dr Tommaso Palermo
t.palermo@lse.ac.uk

Professor Alexander Nezlobin
a.nezlobin@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Rebecca Baker
R.J.Baker@lse.ac.uk

Department of Accounting 

Anthropology

Doctoral programme director 

Professor Michael W. Scott

m.w.scott@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Yan Hinrichsen
y.hinrichsen@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Anthropology


Economics

Doctoral programme director
Professor Maitreesh Ghatak
m.ghatak@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Emma Taverner
e.taverner@lse.ac.uk

Department of Economics

Economic History

Doctoral programme director
Professor Sara Horrell 

s.h.horrell@lse.ac.uk

 

PhD administrative contact
Tracy Keefe
t.j.keefe@lse.ac.uk

Department of Economic History

European Institute

Doctoral programme director

Professor Jonathan Hopkin

j.r.hopkin@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Florence Samuels and Samson Yeung
ei.phd@lse.ac.uk

MPhil/PhD in European Studies


Finance

Doctoral programme director
Professor Mike Burkart
m.c.burkart@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Mary Comben 
m.comben@lse.ac.uk

Department of Finance

Gender Studies

Doctoral programme director
Dr Marsha Henry
m.g.henry@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Kate Steward
k.steward@lse.ac.uk

Gender Studies

Geography and Environment

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Claire Mercer (Director of Graduate Studies)
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Dr Felipe Carozzi (Economic Geography)
F.Carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor Simon Dietz (Environmental Economics)
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Dr Michael Mason (Environmental Policy & Development)
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Dr Austin Zeiderman (Human Geography & Urban Studies)
A.Zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Dr Nancy Holman (Regional Planning)
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Maxime Van Poeteren

Geog.Phd@lse.ac.uk                                             

Department of Geography and Environment


Government

Doctoral programme director

Dr Steffen Hertog

s.hertog@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Emily Metcalf
Gov.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Government


Health Policy

Doctoral programme director
Professor Andrew Street
a.street@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Tash Dalling
Healthpolicy.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Health Policy

International Development

Doctoral programme director
Dr Kate Meagher
k.meagher@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Nina Craven
Id.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of International Development

International History

Doctoral programme director
Professor Matthew Jones
m.c.jones@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Dr Edlira Gjonca
Ih.Phdadmin@lse.ac.uk 

Department of International History


International Relations

Doctoral programme director
Professor Toby Dodge 
b.t.dodge@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Romy Mokogwu and Sarah Helias
ir.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of International Relations

Law

Doctoral programme director
Professor Tom Poole
T.M.Poole@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrator
Rebecca Newman 
r.newman1@lse.ac.uk

Department of Law

Management

Doctoral programme directors
Professor Daniel Gottlieb (Main)

Dr Jordi Blanes i Vidal (Economics and Management)

J.Blanes-I-Vidal@lse.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Booth (Employment Relations and Human Resources)

J.Booth@lse.ac.uk

Dr Barbara Fasolo (Organisational Behaviour)

b.fasolo@lse.ac.uk

Professor Om Narasimhan (Marketing)

O.Narasimhan@lse.ac.uk

 

Dr Edgar Whitley (Information Systems and Innovation)

E.A.Whitley@lse.ac.uk

PhD Programmes Manager

Camilla Kennedy Harper

c.kennedy-harper@lse.ac.uk

Department of Management


Mathematics

Doctoral programme director
Professor Luitgard Veraart
L.Veraart@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Enfale Farooq
E.Farooq@lse.ac.uk

Department of Mathematics


Media and Communications

Doctoral programme director
Professor Ellen Helsper
e.j.helsper@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Leo Beattie
Media.Research@lse.ac.uk

Department of Media and Communications

Methodology

Doctoral programme director
Associate Professor Flora Cornish
f.cornish@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Camilya Maleh
methodology.research@lse.ac.uk

Department of Methodology

Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

Doctoral programme director

Dr Campbell Brown
 C.f.brown@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Andrea Pawley and Anika Bloomfield
Philosophy.pg@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method

Psychological and Behavioural Science

Doctoral programme director
Professor Martin Bauer 
M.Bauer@lse.ac.uk 

PhD administrative contact
Rebecca Lee and Ginny Pavey (job share from April 2022)
pbs.phd@lse.ac.uk 

Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science

Social Policy

Doctoral programme director 
Dr Berkay Ozcan
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Sevilay Erdogan and Craig Stewart
Socialpolicy.Phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Social Policy


Sociology

Doctoral programme director
Professor Mike Savage
m.a.savage@lse.ac.uk

Department Research Manager
Emilia Borowksa
sociology.phd@lse.ac.uk

Department of Sociology

Statistics

Doctoral programme director
Prof Clifford Lam
c.lam2@lse.ac.uk

PhD administrative contact
Penny Montague
statistics.research@lse.ac.uk; p.montague@lse.ac.uk

Department of Statistics